Whats up..!
Its been a boring Saturday and could wait to vent it out…!
Job search is such a pain and m sure most of you would agree to me except the lucky ba*****s….
About a month back I called up the HR at JMF and asked them if I could apply for relevant opening wen the outright said that there were no openings… just yesterday I got to know from a friend that three days back an ex-colleague of his joined JMF in their Equity research as an analyst….! Man… that was annoying…!
There were openings in SBI where I tried to apply…. A week later wen I tried to follow-up.. the female tells me that although my experience is relevant, I do not suit the profile requirement… I wondered why….
I tried in BMR in their M&A department… now this was one thing I was a bit confident to get in as I am a CA and BMR being a CA firm, would prefer me over others, given the fact that I have some exposure to this stuff.…! a week later wen I tried to follow-up, the female tells me that I am not eligible as I am a CA… :o ….. A CA firm saying this was a complete shocker for me…. But then she explained that the policy of the company was to hire CAs only at Associate level whereas the post on offer was of an analyst level where they take only MBAs…! :P
Today again when I spoke to a senior to direct me through this job hunt… all that he could say was that I am not an MBA and hence would be a herculean task to get in anywhere with a client interface….!
Boss… gimme a break…! I mean wat is this whole fuss about me being a CA and hence not being the right guy for a job in any damn finance field…! The very selection criteria of these jobs seems faulty and biased… the search here should be more talent based than degree based…! Its not an MBA that makes a difference but the knowledge, enthusiasm and hardwork that does…! In the entire history of CFAG (my department), the only guy who’s been able to make it to the UK in the healthcare front end is a CA, CFA…. The guy who was next offered to join his onshore team, who unfortunately rejected it for god knows what, was a CA… (apparently, this guy left the team and I replaced him in here… but he is still respected and sought after by the UK team and very much respected in here as well because of his tremendous knowledge in ECM)….
When I was working with the India M&A team, I was given a task to calculate some weird ratios… I had made an assumption as regards some data in one of them wen I got back to my senior, who apparently is an MBA, trying to seek his consensus over the same, …. Now the ratio had something to do with the Net Assets of the company and what I had done was to calculate it the straight way by finding the net worth in the absence of any current data available…. When he realized this he was a bit disturbed and started arguing wid me that the method was wrong as Net Assets cannot be Net Worth of the company…! :O …. I tried explaining him it effectively the same thing but he wouldn’t budge…! I stopped there…. But was this a point to argue..>! ?? :P
I mean why is an MBA given so much importance… there are people in our department who being MBAs are looking forward to their second MBAs… why…. Is one not enough…. :P…. there are graduates in our department who earn at par with these uber-cool MBAs and probably deliver better stuff…! Even now when they hiring, they roaming around in MBA campuses trying to rake in talented young people… but they yet do not consider CA campus recruitments….! L …. CAs in our department are merely 7 out of a total strength of 40 …!
After the above lambast, you probably may feel that m quite anti MBA… but that’s not the case.. matter fact .. m planning for one myself….. ;P…. Not that I aspire to be an MBA.. but a couple of things that I look forward to such as :
1. Campus life
2. business model innovation
3. revenue models and projections (and last but not the least)
4. trying to meet the demands for career growth…! ;P
To sum it all…. I am not here on a debate on whether an MBA better or a CA…. or who offer more growth.. or even who makes more successful bankers… but I only feel that the industry should give us a fair chance to compete than be biased over which school / institution we belong to…. We should be judged upon our grades and how promising we prove to be for the organization… Neither is it that an MBA makes you a superhero or an omniscient fellow who has solution to every problem in this world….
Moral of the rant: Dikhawe pe mat jao… Apni akal lagao… :D
It seems the grass is greener on the other side always...our seniors (in my MBA clg), keep on saying that they are being rejected from finance back office jobs because the comapanies prefer CA's as an ideal candidte for such posts. U seem to be saying just the opposite. It seems the better option is to do CA+MBA and hope the comapnies dont ask for a CFA degree as well...............Good Luck for ur job hunting!!!!!!!!!!!
ReplyDelete